One benefit of Instagram

I have been on Instagram (note the use of “on” like a drug..) for about one year.  I don’t know why.  At first I just wanted to see what it was about, and then thought that maybe after some time I would find a reason perhaps.  While I think that it has been pretty well useless to me since I am not promoting a click farm or instant friends or various stuff for sale like t-shirts or hipsterish wallets and shaving kits, I haven’t bothered deleting the account or doing anything with it. I’m kind of letting it go, not really caring what I put up there, kind of half interested in what happens, and what doesn’t.  What does 20,000 followers and 1,000 likes on a photo really mean anyway??  There are some real rubbish photos out there getting thousands and thousands of likes.  Hmm maybe I’m doing it wrong?  I think my max is around 30 or 40 likes and nothing happened.  I didn’t get a check in the mail or a commendation from the National Institute of Instagram Photography or anything interesting like that, but that’s likely because I didn’t get enough likes. Recently I have been getting followers from the Russian speaking areas- mainly wedding type photographers.  I don’t know why.  Anyway I digress..

One thing I noticed is that when you look through your camera roll in Instagram it automatically crops them to square format and that has made me look at the composition and image differently from time to time.   I do shoot a lot of 120 film in 6×6 format but I regularly find something I like from my 35mm negatives in the square.  By the way I am not one of these negative purists.  I don’t feel the negative is sacred and the print shouldn’t be cropped.  I’m old school.  Do what you like to get what you want; whatever works.

Well there you have it: not a huge benefit, and not really a reason to keep using Instagram, but something:-)

By the way if anyone reading this, any “users” out there, have any interesting experiences or “benefits” to share I would be interested in hearing!

IMG_3443

Bend, Daikoku-Futo. Leica lllf / Summitar / Acros / Caffenol

2 thoughts on “One benefit of Instagram

    1. jordi Post author

      That’s the magic of it for Instagram I guess- we’re using it and we don’t know why. I’m sure we’re not the only ones. Maybe we’re all afraid of what we might miss out on, or after a while the investment of time and the record of photos it contains might be a waste to throw away (sort of like FB as well..). Re the wedding photographers from Russia my guess is that Instagram is going through some sort of a boom over there is all. It will be interesting to see where it goes from here.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

