Superb.

I remember it like yesterday all those years ago when we spied each other across a crowded, brightly lit smoke free room..  It had a peculiar but elegant design.  A name that dared to be tested. “Are you good enough?”..Intrigued I drew closer to hear more it had to say, but it was silent.  “Yes. No..I don’t know, maybe,” I muttered to myself, retreating a few steps away to mindlessly pick through a basket of picked through filters. Although I didn’t buy it, it was too late already. It was only a matter of time. Well, far too much time really- never a very populous camera even in 1935, they don’t turn up very often!

IMG_1681

Here are some interesting features about this camera that I noticed:

  1. It purportedly has parallax compensation (I don’t know how this works yet)
  2. The film travels horizontally (image isn’t upside down in your viewfinder)
  3. There is a level in one corner on the ground glass
  4. The film winder is a lever rather than a knob
  5. There is a mirror to read the shutter speeds from above (the speeds are written backwards on the dial)
  6. The film back has two doors (only one requires opening to take out the film)

Kids wanted to collect some tadpoles so we went out to the rice fields and I grabbed a couple rolls (Acros and Foma).  The camera was nice to use and I didn’t have any issues except accidentally keeping my finger on the shutter charge lever when pressing the shutter lever a few times (causing the shutter to stay open too long and blurring the photos).  I like the results.  Not just for an 80 year old camera- for any camera.  Now just to find some filters and a lens hood for it.  Let’s see, when’s the next camera swap meet in Ginza??

Leave a Reply

